Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

St David Awards – annual award scheme in Wales

This advice applies to Wales

The St David Award scheme is an annual award to recognise and celebrate people who do exceptional things and make a real difference to the quality of life in Wales.

Top tips

St David Awards are your chance to recommend someone you feel deserves recognition for their outstanding achievements. You can nominate them for the Welsh awards system.

Who could get an award

The awards will be given to people who are not simply doing their jobs, but rather those who do make a real difference to the quality of life in Wales. The nominations period varies slightly each year, but is between dates in July and October. More details are on the St David Awards website.

You can nominate individuals or groups of people for an award across eight categories. You can also nominate yourself. The categories are:

  • Bravery
  • Citizenship
  • Culture
  • Enterprise
  • Innovation and Technology
  • International
  • Sport
  • Young Person.

There is also the First Minister's Special Award. This award is in the personal gift of the First Minister only - you cannot nominate someone for it directly.

How are winners chosen

Panels of judges will chose finalists for the main categories and the finalists will be invited to an award ceremony in March. At the ceremony, the winners will be announced.

The winner in each category will receive a specially commissioned trophy.

Next steps

You can find more information about the awards, and how to nominate someone for an award, on the St David Awards website at

Did this advice help?
Why wasn't this advice helpful?
Did this advice help?

Thank you, your feedback has been submitted.